The Last Saturday

It just got real.

I was owed drinks because I grabbed a rock and that’s how I came home teary-eyed. Let me back up a bit.

A few weeks ago, I went rock wall climbing with my friend BJ and his friend Mark. Mark had lived in Brazil for awhile and told us about a local drink called [Caipirinha]. While I was on a challenging climb, BJ insisted that I couldn’t come down until I had reached a certain hold. I tried to reach it twice and failed. Then BJ tried a new incentive. If I made the hold, Mark would treat us to Caipirinhas. Wouldn’t you know it? I leapt from the wall and held on to that stupid fake rock with all I had in me. I even went beyond that.

Fast forward to today. My days left in the States are dwindling. Mark had texted BJ about the drinks owed to us, and we set it up so we could drink tonight. If you’ve never had a Caipirinha, do it. They’re delicious. So I spent a few hours with BJ, Mark, and my best friends Hannah and Jordan. After a few drinks we got goofy and talked about Korea, comedians, and something about the worst paint job in a bathroom.

These are the days I’ll miss the most while in Korea. The side-splitting laughter. The inside jokes. The comfort of knowing my best friends are mere minutes away. Jordan recently started a relationship, and it’s in the exciting stage. I’m bummed that I can’t be there to see her face when she tells me the new developments, and I’m upset that I can’t be there for her when she needs someone to talk to. I’ve been fortunate to have my friends so close to me the past few years, and I can only hope that I’ll make new friends that can measure up.

Leaving my friends today was hard, but it also made me realize how excited I am for this opportunity.  I have a chance to live in a different culture, learn a new language, and make new friends. I intend to make the most of it. As a special bonus, I know I have wonderful friends to come home to at the end of it.

Leave a Reply

