Walmart Hooker

I have a sixth sense when it comes to spotting Asians in the room. It’s really not that hard since we make up less than 1% of the population in my area. Even so, I still consider it a super power.

One night at my favorite bar, my Spidey Senses started tingling. In the corner was a group of scantily-clad Asian women hanging on a group of college boys. I thought it was a strange sight since the bar I frequent is pretty classy. It’s not unusual for college women to drink there, but it is odd for them to be dressed up in that much glitz.

Curry, my favorite bartender, saw my confusion and explained that they were hookers. He wasn’t sure where they came from but he guessed they had a house close-by.

The next week, I stopped by Walmart to pick up a lunch before work. I was dressed in my regular work clothes: dress pants, dressy top, and sandals. Walking back to my car, a man drove by me. “Excuse me! I have a question for you!” he yelled.

In my naivety, I assumed it was for directions.

“Where’d you get those shoes?” he asked.

Looking down at my sandals I responded, “I think I got them at Kohl’s.”

“How much would it cost to have them dangling out the window of my backseat?”

I don’t think I ever ran away so fast in my life. Had it not been for Curry’s explanation the week before, I might have been even more upset. It’s a sad thing, but when you are a minority in the race department, you tend to get lumped into a group. Whatever experience a stranger had with the group is what you automatically become until you can prove otherwise. Thankfully, I haven’t had a problem with being mistaken for a hooker since then, but it’s something I’ll never forget!

Leave a Reply

